Facts And Figures

Map showing providence of British Canada

Map showing Providence of British Canada

Providence of British Columbia, Canada
British Columbia is the most westerly providence of Canada. Victoria is the capital but the largest city is Vancouver which is also the third largest metropolitan area in Canada.

The Pacific Ocean is to the West of British Columbia, Alaska to the Northwest and directly north by the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory. On the east it borders with the providence of Alberta. To the south are the states of Washington, Idaho and Montana.

British Columbia’s land area is 944,735 square kilometers (364,764 square miles) which is about the size of France, Germany and the Netherlands combined. It is larger than the total area of Washington, Oregon and California. British Columbia’s rugged coastline stretches for more than 27,000 kilometers (16,780 miles), including deep, mountainous fjords and about 6,000 islands, most of which are uninhabited.

Yellowhead Pass is the border between British Columbia and Alberta and the entrance to Jasper National Park.